Places I Never Thought I’d Go

Does this ever happen to you? You’re traveling and you end up somewhere you never in a million years thought you’d go? I’m not talking about planned destinations. Like Prince Edward Island, for example. Or Nova Scotia. Those were definitely places that weren’t even on our radar before I moved out east, but when we did visit them, it was entirely planned. (More on those at a later date.)

What I’m talking about is when you end up in random places that you never planned to visit. It definitely happens to my family and me from time to time. We usually pause, look at each other, and say something along the lines of, “who’d have thought we’d ever be in [this location]?”

For example: Roswell, New Mexico. We didn’t stop here; we merely drove through on our way from Four Corners to Carlsbad Caverns. Nevertheless, it’s a place I never thought I’d see. 

dscn8768

Example #2: the Odessa Meteor Crater. We’d never even heard of this but when we saw the signs for it on our way from Guadalupe Mountains to Dallas, TX, we obviously had to stop. I mean…meteors! And craters! How cool, right? Truth be told, it was a bit underwhelming. There was no meteor and not much of a crater. But hey, now we can say we’ve been there.

The Odessa Meteor Crater is the largest of many craters in the area, and is designated as a US National Natural Landmark. Today it’s about 500 feet across and only about 15 feet deep, but estimates are that it used to be around 100 feet deep and has filled in over time.

dscn9358

dscn9360
Odessa Meteor Crater, TX
dscn9362
Odessa Meteor Crater, TX

And lastly, on our way from Dallas to Great Sand Dunes we found ourselves driving through Amarillo, TX. Again, not a place I ever planned to visit. But there we were. We didn’t end up stopping, so all I have is a poor quality photo of an overpass we drove under. But that counts for something, right?

dscn9365

I know there have been other similar instances, but these are the ones that come to mind right now. I’m sure I’ll end up with another similar post in the future, once I have another collection of places.

Has anyone else had a similar experience? I’d love to hear your stories!

6 thoughts on “Places I Never Thought I’d Go

  1. It happened to my sister & I on our first trip to England. We had seen a sign for a place called Lulworth Castle 3 times before we realised someone was trying to tell us something. We ended up detouring there & it was one of our favourite days of the whole 3 week trip. And it included travelling through a live firing range for the British army & being scared half to death when said firing range was active.. such a funny moment! (Sounds worse than it was 😀)

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

