Favorite Destinations: Waterfall Edition

In keeping with my list-making theme, I’ve decided to start a favorite destinations series of posts. I’ve previously talked about some of my favorite hikes and my favorite national parks, so today I thought I’d branch out a little bit and talk about my favorite waterfalls.

For the most part, these aren’t the tallest waterfalls I’ve ever seen, and unlike much of what I talk about on this blog, many of these aren’t located in national parks. Instead, these are the waterfalls stand out in my mind in some way.

Awosting Falls – Minnewaska State Park, New York
This one makes the list because it’s cool – but also because the unique geology and large volume of water surprised us immensely.

Lower Falls – Yellowstone National Park, Wyoming
I mean, do I really need words for this one? The beautiful colors and thunderous falling water really speak for themselves. Also, this Wyoming’s tallest waterfall.


Multnomah Falls – Columbia River Gorge Scenic Highway, Oregon
I feel like this is another one that doesn’t need an explanation. It’s tall, iconic, beautiful, and surrounded by the lush Pacific Northwest landscape. Plus, it’s the tallest waterfall in Oregon! 


Palisade Falls – Hyalite Canyon, Montana
I almost didn’t put this one on this list, but then I realized I was probably taking Palisade Falls for granted. It’s near my hometown and easily accessible so I’ve hiked to it multiple times. It’s not that I don’t think it’s a pretty falls. It’s just that for me it’s somewhat normal. Sometimes I forget that not everyone has a beautiful 80-foot waterfall so close to home. 


Silverthread Falls – Delaware Water Gap National Rec Area, Pennsylvania
This is the most unique waterfall I’ve ever seen – 80 feet tall, 1 foot wide, with water that slides over the rocks like a slinky going down the stairs. I just found it to be so incredibly cool.

DSCN0235-1


Takakkaw Falls – Yoho National Park, British Columbia
I don’t have a photo of this one because I was pretty young when I visited it. In fact, I’m not sure how much of Takakkaw Falls I actually remember and how much of it is from seeing photos. What I definitely recall, though, is that it’s very tall (over 1200 feet) and that I got sprayed with water from quite a distance away.

Anything I should add to the list? What are your favorite waterfalls? Let me know!

10 thoughts on “Favorite Destinations: Waterfall Edition

  1. I like your list! I just got back from Yellowstone and I agree that the Lower Falls are amazing. I can assure you that your memory of Takakkaw Falls in Yoho being great is correct! I loved the falls in Havasupai (Grand Canyon). The colour is extraordinary. Great hike to get there too.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I honestly don’t have a favourite waterfall. There aren’t many in the UK, I guess. The one they filmed Robin Hood Prince of Thieves at is iconic, and pretty!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Oh wow, I just googled McArthur Burney Falls…man is that a neat one!

      You’re the second person to mention the Yosemite ones…I was too young to remember my trip there, so clearly I need to re-visit.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Good list. I’ve only seen two of those. There are some amazing waterfalls in Havasu Canyon in Arizona and in Yosemite. I’m also a huge fan of waterfalls. I made a list of my top ten waterfalls around a year ago I think.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Actually now that you mention it, I think I remember reading that. I haven’t made it to Havasu and I was 1 when I went to Yosemite, so I didn’t figure I could include any of those ones on the list. They look amazing though!

      Like

Leave a Reply

